Sergei Prokofiev: 10 Pieces from Romeo and Juliet, Op.75

The program for Alicante.

Ten transcription pieces from the ballet “Romeo and Juliet” (op. 75, 1937) were the first collection of piano treatments by Prokofiev.

They grew up from the “symphonic suites of the Op 64 bis” written by the composer on the basis of ballet in 1936.

“From the ballet I made two symphonic suites, seven pieces each. In addition to the suites, I made a collection of ten pieces for piano, selecting those moments of “Romeo and Juliet”, which were better suited for transcription.” says Prokofiev about this cycle.

The composer brought together the main suite numbers and, thus, showed in piano transcription almost the whole essence of the ballet, its main images, determining situations, everyday background and even, to a certain extent, its plot outline. Naturally, the most important part of the thematic material was included in the piano suite.

“The character of pianism is typical of Prokofiev, with an emphasis on laconism, without textual excesses and any virtuosic effects. This is to some extent affected by previous authorial searches for “modest” pianism in the sonatinistic style of the “Paris period”.

However, the brightness of the musical images, the dramatic nature of the situations caused the piano presentation, although strict in form, but intense in content. The music of all the plays is clear, expressive and romantically excited.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.